Whether you’ve heard a little about PPC marketing and are curious to learn more, or you already know that you want to use PPC to market your business, but aren’t sure where to start, you’ve come to the right place!
First off let's put it in perspective. What roles plays PPC in the Digital Marketing Tree? and what can PPC do for my car dealer business.
As you can see in the search marketing branch we have SEO (Search Engine Optimization) and PPC (Pay Per Click). We could also draw more branches inside PPC including
- Pay-per-Click Search Campaigns
- Pay-per-click Display Campaigns
- Pay-per-Impression
- Pay-per-click Remarketing Campaign
- Pay-per-Play for Videos
Before diving into details, let's go back to the basic.
What is PPC?
PPC stands for pay-per-click, a model of internet marketing in which advertisers pay a fee each time one of their ads is clicked. Essentially, it’s a way of buying visits to your site, rather than attempting to “earn” those visits organically.
Search engine advertising is one of the most popular forms of PPC. It allows advertisers to bid for ad placement in a search engine's sponsored links when someone searches on a keyword that is related to their business offering. For example, if we bid on the keyword “PPC software,” our ad might show up in the very top spot on the Google results page.
How Can PPC help my Car Dealer Business in South Florida?
Have you ever search in google for the cars you sell? Do it! you will probably see something similar to these results, the first 4 results are paid ads (your PPC car dealers competitors) you can easily recognize it for its green square (Ad) next to each ad. So everytime you click on it the advertiser has to pay google a small amount.
According to Google data (July, 2016) in Miami-Dade and Fort Lauderdale area there are 151,900 monthly searches related to cars with an average cost per click of $2.79 which still is a cheap deal compared to other cities across USA.
How is this a good deal to me?
In one word, statistics is the answer, for x numbers of visitors you will get Y number of leads (people contacting you interested in buying a car from you) and from this Y number of leads you will make Z amount of sales, allowing you to continue generating more leads for next cycle and grow your business.
When you display your current inventory you will allow people searching for each particular car to find you easily and you will only pay for people interested in the specific cars you have announced. Let's say you are offering a Toyota Corolla 2016 and you have it available for sale and for lease, you can have several campaigns for it including:
Search: for people looking for keywords such as, by the way this is how real people search for:
Toyota Corolla 2016 for sale
Toyota Corolla 2016 red for sale in miami
Toyota Corolla between 2014 and 2016 under $30.000 in Miami Florida
Display: Show pictures of your car with price and location, to avoid curious guys.
Remarketing: Display your same ads or better across different networks such as: blogs, newspaper, car magazines, facebook and more.
Long story short, PPC allows you to chase your potential clients before they even think considering buying a car to the time when they already took the decision and are considering.
How much does PPC for car dealers cost?
Pay per click has variable rates click can go from a few cents to a few dollars per click but don't let this number stop you, you need to know how many visitors takes to your business to close a deal, once you have this average you can scale, for instance you run a test campaign for 3 month and you invest $6,000 and you did only 24 sales you know your cost per acquisition is $250, now you can scale and invest more money knowing what to expect.
As a reference consider the average monthly searches for these cars in the state of Florida and its suggested bid (top amount you would pay for each click) :
Keyword | Avg. Monthly Searches | Suggested bid |
Honda Civic | 368,000 | $5.84 |
Ford Focus | 165,000 | $5.09 |
Jeep Wrangler | 450,000 | $4.82 |
Toyota Corolla | 201,000 | $8.16 |
Honda Accord | 301,000 | $4.80 |
Jeep Cherokee | 246,000 | $6.88 |
Jeep Grand Cherokee | 246,000 | $5.98 |
Toyota RAV4 | 201,000 | $7.16 |
Ford Explorer | 301,000 | $6.18 |
Ford Fusion | 201,000 | $5.66 |
Subaru Forester | 165,000 | $4.89 |
Kia Soul | 135,000 | $6.05 |
Toyota Tacoma | 246,000 | $5.32 |
Toyota Camry | 165,000 | $7.63 |
Ford Escape | 246,000 | $8.51 |
Hyundai Elantra | 135,000 | $9.64 |
Chevrolet Cruze | 33,100 | $5.92 |
Nissan Rogue | 246,000 | $5.81 |
Honda Odyssey | 165,000 | $5.37 |
Hyundai Sonata | 135,000 | $6.86 |
Nissan Altima | 165,000 | $5.88 |
Nissan Sentra | 90,500 | $4.60 |
Chrysler 200 | 165,000 | $6.37 |
GMC Sierra | 110,000 | $4.12 |
Honda CR-V | 14,800 | $4.04 |
Chevrolet Malibu | 22,200 | $5.50 |
Chevrolet Equinox | 40,500 | $5.61 |
Chevrolet Silverado | 22,200 | $4.79 |
Ford F-Series | 3,600 | $3.10 |
*Data from August 2016
This is not a hard job but it's time consuming and it takes responsibility, our plans for managing PPC starts at $100/week. Let us be part of your journey. Contact us to learn more or check our our PPC Plans for Car Dealers